Hi, my name is BBB and I’m addicted to oats…

Stove-top oats, microwave oats, overnight oats, oat flour, rolled oats, steel-cut oats, oat bran, oatmeal, oat bars, oatcakes, oat granola, oat groats, “pro”ats, oat cookies, fried oats, shrimp’n’oats, oat crisp….okay some of those are not the best choice,s but the point is that oats are delicious, nutritious, and extremely versatile.  To be honest, I would not be opposed to eating oats at every meal.  I could eat them every day for the rest of my life and not get tired of them, which I will probably do:)

Oats are a complex carb packed with fiber and heart healthy nutrients.  When you eat carbs, your body immediately takes those carbohydrates and uses them as energy.  Unlike fats and proteins, which must first be converted in to carbohydrates before being used.  If you eat a balanced diet (that includes carbs, Atkins my a$$) and regularly exercise, your muscles will have a larger store of glycogen to convert in to glucose.  Glycogen is this magic little guy that sits in your muscles and says “GO YOU!” at the beginning of your workout, and then furiously converts fats in to usable energy at the end of it.

Oats are great for a pre/post-workout carb to give you energy to get super jacked, because who doesn’t want to look like the Terminator?  I usually sneak them in to a shake using oat flour, it really thickens the shake without having to add yogurt or a pound of ice, but a big bowl of proats (protein-oats) is perfect for breakfast on the run.  I’ll give you the PWO shake recipe soon if anyone is interested!  It’s extremely important to eat before AND after you exercise, especially because I know you’ll be pushing yourself beyond the limit:)  Before a workout, you need to fuel your body so that you don’t become weak during it and after so that your muscle can repair itself.  Essentially, lifting weights causes your muscle fibers to tear and then rebuild themselves to grow afterward.   I’m sure this makes sense right?  THEN WHY DON’T YOU EAT??  Not eating during the time surrounding your workout will not, I repeat NOT, force your body to “eat” the fat around your hips that you’re dying to lose.  Your body is going to go straight to the good stuff, muscle.

food=fuel=energy=effort=results

I’ve never been too great at math, but an equation that involves only equal signs sounds like my kind of problem.  Before and after each time I kill myself during a workout (which is about 99% of the time), I eat a 250 calorie meal.  This is because I burn 500 calories during my workouts.  Everyone’s caloric burn is different, so your meal could involve a lot more calories or a lot less.  I do, however, always try to  include oats because they are such a great source of carbohydrates.  I know that some people might not be down with the whole “eat the same thing every day” stuff, so I’ve been trying to mix up my meals to provides new recipes for you!

Blueberries ‘N Cream Overnight Proats

Makes 1 serving:

Calories: 273

Carbs:36g

Protein: 31g

____________________________________________

1/2 cup steel-cut oats (never quick cook!)

1 cup water

1 scoop IsoPure Zero Carb Cookies and Cream Protein Powder (vanilla would work too)

1 tsp vanilla

2 packets stevia

1/4 cup frozen blueberries (if you aren’t doing this overnight, just use fresh)

1. Combine all of the ingredients and refrigerate overnight.

2. Eat cold or heat and enjoy!

One response

Leave a Reply

