Thirsty Thursday!

I hope everyone had a fun and safe 4th of July!  I got to spend it in our nation’s capitol touring historic bars and watching fireworks on the capitol building lawn:)  Drinks and explosives, sounds like good ol’ fashioned ‘Murican fun to me! I had a great time, but also strayed from my usually, very firm clean-eating principles.  I don’t feel guilty about any of the AMAZING meals I enjoyed at places like Graffiato, Good Stuff Eatery, and Rasika (yeah we went big), but I do wish I would have stuck a little closer to the norm because I’m noticing how a few days can affect me!

Fireworks behind the Washington Monument!

I tried to find some sort of healthy and safe cleanse or detox to do, but all of the detox plans just outlined how to eat clean.  I wanted to write to all of these silly magazines (who think these guidelines should only last for five days) and tell them that they should feel responsible for America’s obesity issues because they support fleeting healthy habits!

As I tripped off of my soapbox, I decided that actually reaching my goal for water consumption would be a good start to getting back on track! Usually, I drink at least 70-80 oz. of water a day, but I always shoot for 96 oz.   It’s  been about a million degrees where I am, and staying hydrated has been at the top of my to-do list.  At work we have unlimited access to a beverage room that’s full of Coke, Diet Coke, Sprite, Dr. Pepper, you name it.  The only thing I grab (multiple times a day) is a handy little 8 oz. bottle.  It’s kind of inconvenient for a green waterholic like me, but it’s free so i can’t really complain 🙂  Since I don’t want to be the only one leaving the office 40 times a day because of over-watering myself, I think you should try it too! So begins the first:

Thirsty Thursday!

I’m thinking more along the lines of drinking a ton of water, not an excuse to get shammered on a weekday:) I figure it’s an easy to way to get yourself motivated in the right direction so I’m going to challenge you to join me in this goal! The benefits of water are endless, and I’m pretty sure there are plenty of low-calorie versions out there.;)  In addition to keeping your body functioning, water can serve as an appetite suppressant, improve the health of your hair, skin, and nails,  and aid in muscle/bone recovery for those who exercise regularly.

*Note: water intoxication does exist!  So let’s try not to get hydro-wasted at work my friends. If you do, I fully support you ripping your shirt off to flaunt your super-hydrated abs.

Feel free to post your daily water consumption so that we can congratulate you on your success!

Facebook: BBBHealthy

Twitter: @BBBhealthy

or on here!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

