Hello, Fall!

I hope everyone had a relaxing Labor Day Weekend:)  Mine was just about the epitome of relaxation!

Though it started out with a sleepless night shift (No sleep=bad for my metabolism!), it got pretty awesome after my 5 hour nap:)

I had to go up to Potrero Hill and got to enjoy this gorgeous view of San Francisco, it never gets old seeing this!

I stopped by Whole Foods on the way home and went a little crazy…

Went in to get coconut flour and came out with:

  1. Coconut flour (I did one thing right!)
  2. Synergy Raspberry Chia Kombucha-my new favorite drink, I love the chia in it.
  3. Vegan Carob Chips-perfect for when I just really really really really want a Hershey’s Kiss: my weakness
  4. Metromint Cherrymint and Chocomint- I brought the Cherrymint to the park with me on one of the only hot days in SF, so refreshing!
  5. Lydia’s Organics Sprouted Cinnamon Cereal-I’m obsessed, who knew sprouted nuts and seeds could make such great cereal?
  6. I also got a Nana’s NO gluten-free chocolate chip cookie, but I didn’t come out with it because I ate in while shopping:)

Sunday was spent at Dolores Park with friends, enjoying the rare sunshine:)

Followed by some sprints in not-so-sunny Golden Gate Park

That was my second workout of the day, and afterwards I was STARVING!!  I wanted some hearty comfort food after running in the cold, and came up with a clean cream sauce to smother some turkey in:)

Fauxfredo Pasta Sauce

1 tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1/2 medium red onion, chopped

3 garlic cloves, minced/crushed

2 tbsp oat flour

1 cup vegetable broth

3/4 cup plain greek yogurt

pepper, to taste

  1. Heat the oil in a medium sauce pan.
  2. Add the onions and allow them to soften for about 5 minutes.
  3. Add the garlic and heat it for about one minute.
  4. Combine the oat flour and stir.
  5. Add the vegetable broth and stir until combined.
  6. Turn the heat on low and allow the sauce to thicken.
  7. After about 4 minutes, add the greek yogurt and pepper.
  8. Continue to heat the sauce on low until it is at the desired consistency.

I drenched some turkey and spaghetti squash in this stuff!  Served with roasted brussels sprouts and fresh tomatoes, it’s just good, clean comfort food. A perfect way to officially say goodbye to summer, and hello to autumn veggies:)

Leave a Reply

