Breakfast for dinner: PANCAKES!

My roommates have been wondering why it smells like breakfast at 11pm every night, it’s me:)  I am completely against the “no eating after 8pm” rule.  If I’m hungry, I WILL EAT.  Sleeping is recovery time right?  So why would you starve your body at such a critical time?  I already wake up ravenous after a good night’s sleep when I eat a bedtime meal, I can’t imagine how I’d feel if I skipped it!  Though carbs aren’t the best idea, it’s important to get protein and fat about 45 minutes to 1 hour before you sleep.  The protein is what will repair the muscles that you’ve been shredding, and the fat will slow absorption.

I’m not really down to eat a piece of turkey breast and some almonds right before bed (I’m more of a dessert girl anyways). So I’ve been trying out pancake recipes every night for the past couple of weeks (tough life right?).

I’ve finally found a winner!

and no they don’t even have protein powder in them:)  It’s real people food, just at the right time!

 

Clean Coconut Pancakes

Ingredients:

1/2 tbs ground flaxseed

1 tbs coconut flour

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tbs unsweetened coconut

sprinkle of cinnamon

3 egg whites

1 egg

1/2-1 tbs almond milk

splash of vanilla

couple drops of stevia

 

  1. Heat a pan on medium
  2. Combine all of your wet ingredients, then slowly add the dry ingredients while stirring.
  3. Cook on one side until the side up is bubbly, then flip!
  4. Enjoy topped with some greek yogurt or natural peanut butter, or both like me:)

 

Try this recipe out and let me know what you think!:)

 

Do you avoid eating after 6 or 7 or 8pm?  Let us know in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

