September FPP and JE’s Apple Cinnamon Protein Bars

Happy October!  I tried ringing in the Autumn season with @Powercakes’ pumpkin roll and apple cinnamon protein bread, but SF is still in summer mode!  I can’t really bake healthy treats all day when it’s a balmy 85 outside, I just had to get out and RUN.  My mom and I ran the Bridge to Bridge 7k benefitting the Northern California Special Olympics and it was a rude awakening, but so fun! I’ve realized that I probably should have started training for the Nike Women’s Half Marathon a little bit before now…whoops.

October 1st not only means a new Foodie Pen Pal, but a post about the one I received for September!  If you haven’t heard of Foodie Pen Pals before, YOU SHOULD.  Just go check out Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean and learn more about this awesome program.  Basically, you send and receive really awesome food care packages every month, to a complete stranger! It’s just thrilling:)

This month I received a great package from Lisa:

Excuse the mess, it was food prep night!

There was (my favorite part) a handwritten note describing the thought behind every item, and Lisa did a great job at finding clean alternatives to things that she’d thought I’d love!

Love Crunch Apple Crumble Granola-  This stuff is deadly.  It takes all my willpower not to eat the entire bag, and it has CHIA!!  I’ve been good and have just sprinkled a little on my apple pie overnight oats for some crunch:)

Food Should Taste Good Multigrain Chips-LOVE THESE.  They are gluten-free and are made with whole ingredients like quinoa and flax seeds.

Frontera Guacamole Mix-  I’ve never seen this before, but I’m excited to try it.  Clean guacamole usually just takes like a mushy avocado to me, so I’m glad Lisa found this for me.  I’ll have to try to save some of the multigrain chips for this.  “Try” being the key word.

Back to Nature Chocolate Chunk Cookie- Tastes just like a Chips Ahoy!  My favorite part (besides the fact that it’s a cookie, obviously) is that the chocolate is Fair Trade!  Confession: I may have eaten the entire box of these in one day, buy at your own risk.

Just ask if you have any questions about Foodie Pen Pals, and look forward to a guest post from my mom about her care package:)

Jamie Eason’s Apple Cinnamon Protein Bars

These bars are a perfect no-carb treat for when feeding time is inconveniently placed during class time:)

Makes 16 squares (64 calories)

-4 scoops vanilla protein powder (I’ve used chocolate in a pinch and it’s not too bad!)

-1/2 cup almond meal (grind up almonds in a food processor or magic bullet)

-2 tsp baking powder

-1/4 tsp salt

-2 tsp cinnamon

-1/4 tsp nutmeg

-1/4 tsp allspice

-3 egg whites

-4 drops of liquid stevia

-1/2 cup fat-free cottage cheese

-1 tsp vanilla extract

-1 medium apple grated using the large holes

  1.  Prepare an 8×8 baking dish and preheat oven to 350.
  2. Whisk protein powder, almond meal, baking powder, salt, and spices.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk egg whites, sweetener, cottage cheese,and vanilla.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients until combined.
  5. Fold in the grated apple until mixed in.
  6. Bake for 25 minutes.
  7. Store in the refrigerator.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

